If you know anything about either Demi Lovato or Nick Jonas, you know that the two are inseparable friends- and have been since they first met on Disney Channel.

10-20080910-Nick-Jonas-Demi-Lovato-Timeline-Camp-Rock-Billboard-1548

In fact, as Nick told Carpool Karaoke host James Cordon last year, “We’re actually celebrating our tenth year of friendship this year,” (meaning this year is their 11th year of friendship.)

But now, both Demi and Nick are starting to hint that maybe, just maybe, they aren’t JUST friends as they like to tell people.

And before you tell us this isn’t true, we know your arguments. Even in the infamous Carpool Karaoke video, they dispel the rumor of them hooking up by saying it’s “never happened.”

“Not even like a three am pause when you look in each others eyes?” James asked as the two shook their heads, brushing it off.

But things can change, and this video was filmed OVER A YEAR AGO.

So here’s why we think things have changed:

Last night, Demi released her fourth studio album “Tell Me You Love Me,” featuring three notable tracks: “Tell Me You Love Me,” “Only Forever,” and “Ruin the Friendship.”

While the entire album could be analyzed for meaning, these three songs specifically hint at something we’ve thought for a long time: Demi and Nick BELONG together.

Let’s start with the title track, “Tell Me You Love Me.”

When Demi released “Tell Me You Love Me” it was clear that she was longing for some sort of validation or support from someone in her life. Some fans speculated that this may be a song about her ex Wilmer Valderrama, who has remained in her close circle since their public breakup last year. However, some of the lyrics may suggest otherwise:

“I hope I don’t see the day where you move on and be happy without me.”

“What’s my hand without your heart to hold, I don’t know what I’m living for if I’m living without you.”

“All my friends, they know that it’s true. I don’t know who I am without you.”

“Everything that I need is standing in front of me— through the ups and downs baby I’m gonna stick around.”

Sure, these lyrics could essentially be about anyone. But, they seem to be about someone Demi is close with- someone she can’t live without.

Wilmer and Demi have been separated for over a year. In fact, both of them have since dated other people, meaning that Demi has already seen him move on and be happy without her. And she has been happy without him.

You know who she’s never been apart from? Who do all of her FRIENDS know? (Think about it.)

But if you’re not convinced, don’t worry, we weren’t at first either.

Until she dropped “Ruin The Friendship,” yesterday.

Beside the title itself hinting that the song is about Nick, some of the lyrics really narrow down who the song could be about.

“Put down your cigar and pick me up. Play me your guitar, that song I love.”

“Thirsty for your love, fill up my cup.”

“Your body’s looking good tonight, I’m thinking we should cross the line. Let’s ruin the friendship.” 

“Do all the things on our minds. What’s taken us all this time?”

“Baby you and I got history, and we can’t deny our chemistry. So why the f**k are we a mystery? Let’s just go with the connection, give me your affection.”

“No I can’t keep denying every minute I think of you.”

Unlike “Tell Me You Love Me,” these lyrics aren’t so universally fitting.

Who is a boy Demi has years of history with, has chemistry with, who smokes cigars and plays guitar?

1fcacd07995a2d7b47a23873bf5b139b--cigar-smoking-nick-jonas.jpg

If this isn’t enough for you to believe the theories- according to Just Jared, prior to releasing her album Demi stated that everyone would “know who [Ruin the Friendship] was about,” once it was released.

AND, in an interview with Noisey, Demi shared that the same person who inspired “Ruin the Friendship” inspired her next song, “Only Forever,”- going on to confirm that neither song was about any exes or Wilmer.

“I was frustrated with a certain situation,” Lovato says. “And I was like, ‘You know what, I’m just going to write about it.’ And so I did, and sent [the songs] to that person, and that was interesting. Any time you send a song about the person, to the person—it’s ballsy. It’s like, ‘Hey! Here’s my feelings for you!’ … They knew [about my feelings], but neither of us had acknowledged [them] before. And then it turned out that person had written a song about me, and we exchanged songs.”

As for what “Only Forever” is about? Here are some of the key lyrics:

“I’ve been thinking about the future, and I’ve been thinking about the now.”

“I don’t want to pressure you, but I think you need to make a move. I’ve been waiting, and I’ll keep waiting.”

“I can tell that you’re terrified to take a shot this strong.”

“What if I meet somebody else who doesn’t leave me on a shelf?”

This may not seem that impressive, since the lyrics are rather generic in the sense of romantic songwriting, but with Demi confirming that this song was inspired by another artist, who happens to be her friend- it’s a clear jump to assume that Nick Jonas was her inspiration. Especially considering the opening line about the future and the now.

You may remember that Demi and Nick toured together last year on a tour called The Future Now Tour. Could this lyric be a nod to their year long adventure?

nick-jonas-demi-lovato-studio-portrait-billboard-1548

Could the song her secret love interest wrote be one of Nick Jonas’ new songs from his upcoming album?

We think so.

But, until we hear from them I suppose we have to assume they’re “just friends.”

02-Nick-Jonas-and-Demi-Lovato-92-bb19-fea-billboard-i-1548

Because we too pose like this with our “friends,” and make videos congratulating their success…

But hey, maybe we’re wrong.

Let us know what you think about #Nemi (or #Dick if you so please) in the comments below.